What Can a Person with Celiac Disease Eat
People who have celiac disease get food poisoning every time they eat a product made with gluten. After consuming these products, they're likely to experience symptoms such as diarrhea, vomiting, abdominal pain, anemia, etc.
If you're intolerant to gluten or have a friend who is, in this article at oneHOWTO we'll show you what can a person with celiac disease eat so you're clear about what you must cut out from your diet and the foods that you can continue to eat.
What foods can't a celiac person eat?
To learn more about what can a person with celiac disease eat, the first thing to bear in mind is that some foods are made entirely with gluten, such as wheat flour, pasta or grains. In addition to these obvious ingredients, there are several foods that contain gluten that you must also avoid if you have celiac disease.
- Wheat, barley, rye or oat flours.
- Baked goods including bread, biscuits, muffins and cakes, unless they are labelled "gluten-free" or are made with other types of flour, such as buckwheat.
- Pasta, including macaroni, spaghetti, pasta in soup, etc.
- Semolina, as it is derived from wheat.
- Malt and beer, unless indicated "gluten-free".
Foods containing any of these grains or ingredients can't be consumed by a person who has celiac disease.
What foods may contain gluten?
In addition to the foods that we have specified above, there are other foods that may have come into contact with gluten during the handling and packaging process and so should be avoided by people with celiac disease.
- Cooked, processed meats including dry-cured and cooked ham, mortadella, salami, etc.
- Sliced cheese or cheeses for melting.
- Tinned foods including tinned cockles, lentils, etc.
- Confectionery including sweets, nougat, marzipan, etc.
- Coffee, hot chocolate or tea from a vending machine may contain gluten or gluten by-products which can affect your stomach.
Even if their natural composition doesn't include gluten, some products have gluten added during the production or packaging process. It is essential to pay close attention to the nutritional labels that specify whether or not a product is gluten-free.
What can a person with celiac disease eat?
After the above list, it might seem difficult to eat a healthy and balanced diet if you have celiac disease. However, if you know what foods can a person with celiac disease eat safely, you'll be perfectly able to follow a healthy diet and get all your nutrients.
- Fresh legumes.
- Fruit and vegetables.
- Fresh meat, fish and seafood.
- Pure vegetable oil.
- Milk and dairy products.
- Rice, corn, quinoa, buckwheat, flax seed, soy, nuts and tapioca.
- Sugar and honey.
- Coffee beans and ground coffee.
- Carbonated beverages and soft drinks.
Still, you should always check the labels of processed foods to ensure they are completely gluten-free.
Now it's easier than ever before to eat if you're a celiac because many restaurants take this disease into account and provide an assortment of gluten-free choices.
If you can't resist baked goods or sweet recipes, you can make your own gluten-free recipes at home so you don't have to give up the pleasure of eating a tasty cake or delicious muffins. Take a look at these oneHOWTO options!
- How to make buckwheat noodles
- How to make gluten-free bread with olive oil
- How to make bajra roti at home
- Best gluten-free recipes under 200 calories
Check out all of our gluten-free recipes and enjoy the opportunity to enjoy delicious food that's safe to eat for everyone and especially for people with dietary restrictions.
This article is merely informative, oneHOWTO does not have the authority to prescribe any medical treatments or create a diagnosis. We invite you to visit your doctor if you have any type of condition or pain.
If you want to read similar articles to What Can a Person with Celiac Disease Eat, we recommend you visit our Diseases & secondary effects category.